Close my Twilio Project and Refund the Balance

Twilio projects can be closed manually from Console at any time. This guide covers everything you need to know for cancelling your Twilio service, and refunding any remaining balance on your project. Continue reading for an explanation of how this process works, and what to expect.

Important information

Closing an upgraded Twilio project instantly triggers the following changes:

  • Your project is permanently closed, and can't be reopened.
  • Your project and any project-owned subaccounts will immediately stop working:
    • You will no longer be able to successfully submit API requests
    • You will no longer be able to receive or respond to calls and messages
    • Any Authy of Verify applications will no longer function.
  • All project and project-owned subaccount data will be automatically be deleted in 30 days.

Notice: Users who want to discontinue use of Twilio, but keep their project and data accessible, can manually perform a "soft close". This is achieved by releasing and/or cancelling all phone numbers and subscriptions, essentially putting the project into a "dormant" state. This process allows users to retain access to their project data (including usage history, Functions, Assets, Studio Flows, etc.), with the option to return to Twilio in the future. For full details, see Stop Recurring Charges.

Closing a project doesn't mean that we close your user account. You'll still be able to login, and can create a new project under this login. Any other pre-existing Twilio projects that you have will also remain intact. If you want to delete your user account, please contact Twilio support.

Close your project

  1. Access the Project Settings page in Console.
  2. Click Authenticate to make changes at the bottom of the screen.
    projClose_01.png 
  3. Enter your password, and then click Verify to authenticate..
    projClose_02.png 
  4. Click Close Project at the bottom of the screen.
    projClose_03.png 
  5. Select the desired options to continue:
    • Upgraded project: Select "DELETE ALL PROJECT DATA AND SETTINGS", and then click Continue.
      projClose_05.png 
    • Trial project: Check each box to acknowledge, and then click Close Project.
      projClose_04.png 

Refund your balance

When closing an upgraded Twilio project with a positive balance, we will automatically begin processing a full refund of your remaining balance. Please note, this process may take up to 10 business days.

Since Trial projects don't have a user-supplied balance, Twilio does not refund any remaining positive balance when they are closed.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk