Cancel or release a Twilio number

Twilio phone numbers are billed on a monthly basis. Unless you are actively using a number, or you want to keep a number reserved for future use, you can reduce your costs by releasing your unused numbers.

How to release a number via the API

If you would like to release a number as part of your application’s built in logic, please see our API documentation for phone numbers.


How to release a number via the Account Portal

1. Go to the “Manage Numbers” page.


2. Click on the number you would like to release.

3. Look at the bottom of the screen for a link that reads “Release Number”.

Once you click on this link, the number will be released and you will no longer be billed for it.


Numbers in Subaccounts

If you have set up subaccounts of your main account, the numbers which you have in your subaccounts will not appear on the “Numbers” page of your main account. You will need to go to the specific “Numbers” page for your subaccount to see these numbers.

After releasing your number…

Once you release a number, it goes through a period of recycling and testing in order to make it look as good as new for the next owner. You also have the option of reclaiming the number back in Console within 10 days of the release. Read this FAQ to learn more. 

It is important to keep in mind that numbers which are reclaimed to your account in this manner will have their billing cycles restarted. Essentially, you will need to buy the number again.

Please be very sure that you know what you are doing before you release a number.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk