How do I set a recharge or notification trigger?

An automatic payment trigger can be added to your Twilio project to refill your balance once a specific threshold is hit. We recommend using the auto recharge to help prevent your project from being suspended for zero or negative balance. This guide explains how to set and remove recharge triggers. Note: You will not be able to remove recharge triggers if you're part of the Impact Access or Twilio Startup programs. You can read more about this here.

Changes to auto recharge trigger for customers with Indian debit/credit cards

Effective 30th September 2022, Twilio will request all customers with an Indian credit/debit card to set up a balance notification trigger to be notified when their balance goes below the threshold and once notified, add sufficient funds to their account to continue using Twilio services. These changes are in place to ensure Twilio is compliant with the Reserve Bank of India mandate.

To configure your Payment and Balance details, visit the Payment Settings page. From here, you can also add payment methods, and configure auto recharge if you have a card on file that supports recurring payments. Cards that do not support recurring payments will have a badge next to them.

 

Payment.png

 

To set up a balance notification, click on the Balance Notifications tab. Here you can enter a value at which you want to be notified via email, when your account falls below this amount.

 

1_payment_settings.png

 

 

 

Once notified, add funds to your account via the Add Funds page.

 

add_funds_1.png

Please note that you should always have sufficient funds in your account to keep it active.

Notification Triggers

All Twilio projects have a default notification trigger that is hit when your balance reaches $5. When this threshold is met, a notification will go out to your email address advising that your balance is low.

The notification trigger is meant as a reminder to refill your project balance, and prevent it from hitting zero (or negative), and being suspended. Setting an auto recharge trigger for $10 - the lowest level we offer - should prevent you from seeing the notification trigger in most cases.

Starting September 30th 2022 all of our customers will be able to edit their Balance Notification trigger threshold. This allows customers to self manage their Balance Notification configuration without having to go through support.

To add a custom balance notification trigger, click on the Balance Notifications tab. Here you can enter a value at which you want to be notified via email, when your account falls below this amount.

1_payment_settings.png

 

Set a Recharge Trigger

Notice: Recharge Triggers are not available for Invoiced accounts. Invoiced customers please see Payment Options for Twilio Invoices

  1. Access the Billing Overview page in Console. 
  2. Click Enable auto recharge.
    Auto_recharge_setup.png 
  3. Click the Auto Recharge switch to show "Enabled".
    Auto_recharge_enable.png 
  4. Adjust the "Recharge Balance To" and "When Balance Falls Below" options as desired, and then click Select Payment Method. We also recommend to select a backup payment method to lower the risk of your account getting suspended for negative balance.
    Note: If you don't have a Payment Method - please add one, to be able to select it.
    Auto_recharge_select_existing.png 
    Notice:

  5. Choose the desired payment method, and then click Select.
    Auto_recharged_select_master.png 
  6. Confirm your settings are correct, and then click Save.
    Auto_recharge_save_.png 

Remove a Recharge Trigger

  1. Access the Billing Overview page in Console. 
  2. Click Edit auto recharge settings.
    Auto_recharge_remove.png
  3. Click the Auto Recharge switch to show "Disabled".
    Auto_recharge_disable.png 
  4. Click Save.
    Auto_recharge_disable_save.png 

Related Topics

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk