Objective
Twilio accounts can be closed manually from Console at any time. This guide covers everything you need to know for canceling your Twilio service, and refunding any remaining prepaid balance on your account. Continue reading for an explanation of how this process works, and what to expect.
This guide is intended for users under the existing Twilio Console. If you are using the Legacy Twilio Console please refer to this guide instead.
Product
Account Management
Environment
Twilio Console
User Account Permission/Role(s) Required
A user with the account-level OWNER user role can close a Twilio account. Managed accounts can also be closed by an organization-level OWNER or ADMIN.
Procedure
Important information
Closing an upgraded Twilio account instantly triggers the following changes:
- Your account is permanently closed, and can't be reopened.
- Your account and any account-owned subaccounts will immediately stop working:
- You will no longer be able to successfully submit API requests
- You will no longer be able to receive or respond to calls and messages
- Any Authy or Verify applications will no longer function.
- You will no longer be able to view the account to access logs or other account data.
- All account and account-owned subaccount data will be automatically be deleted in 30 days.
Closing a Twilio account doesn't mean that we delete your user information and login. Please see more in Getting Started with Twilio Accounts and Subaccounts. You'll still be able to log in, and can create new accounts under your login. Any other Twilio accounts that you have will also remain active. If you want to delete your user, please first close all your active Twilio accounts and then contact Twilio Support to remove your user information.
Close your account
If you are the account owner, you can close the account following these steps:
- From the account's dashboard, access the Settings -> Account Settings -> Account Details & Security.
- Click Close account at the top right of the screen.
- Review and acknowledge the provided statements shown on the confirmation screen.
- Click Close account.
Alternatively, if you are the Organization owner or admin that manages the account is part of, you can close a managed account following these steps:
- Access Settings -> Organization Settings -> Accounts
- Click on the name of the account you wish to close
- Click Close account at the top right of the screen.
- Review and acknowledge the provided statements shown on the confirmation screen.
- Click Close account.
Refund your balance
Additional Information
Have additional questions on closing your account? Reach out to our Twilio Help Center.