Refunds and/or Closing your Twilio Project

Twilio users are able to manually close their account and request a refund at any time from the Console site. Please continue reading for important information and instructions to close your Twilio project.

Notice: Closing your Twilio Project is easy, but this action is irreversible; Once a project is closed, it can't be reopened. We advise you to read this page with great attention.

Close a Free Trial Project

If you’re using a Twilio free trial project, you can manually cancel your project from Console:

  1. Access the Project Settings page in Console.
  2. Click Authenticate to make changes at the bottom of the screen.
    projClose_01.png
  3. Enter your password, and then click Verify to authenticate..
    projClose_02.png
  4. Click Close Project at the bottom of the screen.
    projClose_03.png
  5. Check each box to acknowledge, and then click Close Project.
    projClose_04.png

Set an Upgraded Twilio Project to Dormant

Upgraded Twilio project owners can release all phone numbers and subscriptions, essentially setting their project to "dormant". This allows you to keep your project open, with the option of returning it to use again down the road. Additionally, you would retain access to your usage history, Functions and TwiML Bin scripts, Studio flows, Assets files, and more.

For more details, please see Stop Recurring Charges.

Permanently Close an Upgraded Twilio Project

IMPORTANT: Closing an upgraded project means the following:
• Your project cannot be reopened. This is a permanent, one-time action.
• If you have a positive balance in your Twilio Project, you will receive a full refund of your remaining balance. This will take up to 10 business days.
• All Project data will be deleted in 30 days.
• If you have subaccounts, they will stop working and will be deleted in 30 days.
• You will not be able to make any API requests to this account.
• Any other Twilio Projects that you have will remain intact.
• If you have Authy and Verify applications linked to this Project, they will stop working.
• Closing a Project does not mean we close your user account. If you want to delete your user account, please contact support.
• At any time you can create new Project from the summary page.

If you’re ready to permanently close your upgraded Twilio project, you can manually do so from Console:

  1. Access the Project Settings page in Console.
  2. Click Authenticate to make changes at the bottom of the screen.
    projClose_01.png
  3. Enter your password, and then click Verify to authenticate..
    projClose_02.png
  4. Click Close Project at the bottom of the screen.
    projClose_03.png
  5. Select "DELETE ALL PROJECT DATA AND SETTINGS", and then click Continue.
    projClose_05.png
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk