Twilio understands that as you develop your projects and ideas, you may need to stop or put a project on hold where you may want a refund or cancel.
If you’re on a free trial of Twilio, you can cancel your project by heading to your Project Settings page. There is a link to close at the bottom of the screen.
If you’ve upgraded by adding your own funds to your project, you have two options:
1. Release your phone numbers and keep your Twilio project. You can release all of your phone numbers in your Twilio project where you will no longer be charged and keep your Twilio project (sort of like a dormant state) for your next project. Twilio support can refund all of your remaining balance *except* a small amount (usually $1.00 USD) if you choose to keep your project. Twilio cannot carry zero balances.
2. Close your project where you will receive a refund, but your information and history will be deleted.
- If you close your project, it is permanent and cannot be reversed.
- You will get a full refund for your remaining balance which will take up to 10 business days to see on your bank statement.
- If you want to use Twilio again after closing, you can still use your email to access the console, but you will need to select create project from the summary page.
For all options above, you will need to contact Twilio Customer Support for a refund with the option you prefer. Here are some tips when requesting a closure or refund:
- Please make the request from the project owner email address. The best way to do this is to login to Console as the project owner and submit a ticket from within Console.
- If you are submitting your request via email, please include your Twilio Account SID (found on the Console homepage. Any requests will need to come from the project owner. If you are unsure if you are the project owner, you can check your users page.
Your refund will take up to 10 business days to see on your bank statement. If you have a PayPal account, you can only be refunded charges in the past 90 days.