If you're managing multiple customers via subaccounts, you can change the subaccount status to "closed" to irreversibly close it. If a subaccount is closed, it means that:
- Twilio will release all phone numbers assigned to it.
- You never be able to use this subaccount to make and receive phone calls or send and receive SMS messages again.
- It cannot be opened again.
- It will be shown as "closed" in your management dashboard when you log in to https://www.twilio.com/user/account
- It will appear in your Accounts List via the API, and you will still have access to historical data for that subaccount unless automatic deletion of closed subaccounts is enabled. If you have enabled automatic deletion of closed subaccounts through the Console Subaccounts settings page, we will delete all subaccount data 30 days after closure. This includes previously closed subaccounts, which will no longer appear on the Console.
- Twilio has automatically enabled this setting for all new projects created after July 5, 2018, as well as all projects without any subaccounts.
- For all other projects, project owners can turn this setting on through the Console Subaccounts settings page.
Note: If you want to temporarily suspend one of your subaccounts, you can change its status to "suspended" instead of "closed."
Currently, all subaccount management must be done via the REST API. To close a subaccount, you'll want to make an HTTP POST request to that subaccount's Account Instance resource.
If you have a small number of subaccounts to manage, you can use Twilio's API Explorer, which acts like a UI wrapper for the API.
Warnings: This is a destructive procedure, so please be sure that you have the correct Account SID. You are also going to want to double check that you are, in fact, not using that subaccount, since setting the status to "Closed" will release any numbers that you have in that subaccount, and will also make any of the UI logs that are part of that subaccount inaccessible.
Steps to Close A Subaccount with the API Explorer:
- Visit the "Identity and Access Management " section of Twilio's API Explorer while browsing your Main Account, not a subaccount, and then select Modify an Account.
- Choose the correct Account SID for the subaccount
- Set the "Status" to Closed.
- Click Make Request.
After refreshing the page, the subaccount should now no longer show up in the drop down or anywhere else in your project.